Eclipse Plug Fuse

Questions about the GHD Mk6 Eclipse and Mk7 Platinum models
Webinfusion
Posts: 134
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 02:13

Eclipse Plug Fuse

Postby Webinfusion » 26 Nov 2015, 15:49

Hi All,
Thought i would post somthing as its a bit dead here these days.

Every eclipse that arrives for repair has a 13A fuse in the plug, are they shipped like this? or are the users all changing them for the same brand of fuse.

cheers
Kev

gary
Site Admin
Posts: 1032
Joined: 26 Jan 2008, 00:44

Re: Eclipse Plug Fuse

Postby gary » 26 Nov 2015, 19:12

That's interesting. Why on earth would they be specing 13A fuses??? They may as well not fit a fuse, as the cable won't be rated at 13A, so the fuse will not be protecting the cabling!

Gary

Webinfusion
Posts: 134
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 02:13

Re: Eclipse Plug Fuse

Postby Webinfusion » 26 Nov 2015, 19:25

they may not be puting 13A in but most that turn up (90%+) have 13A's in
just wondered if anyone else has noticed this.

cheers
kev

gary
Site Admin
Posts: 1032
Joined: 26 Jan 2008, 00:44

Re: Eclipse Plug Fuse

Postby gary » 26 Nov 2015, 19:35

Are you repairing them or just getting broken ones off people for parts?

Webinfusion
Posts: 134
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 02:13

Re: Eclipse Plug Fuse

Postby Webinfusion » 26 Nov 2015, 20:58

repairing them but they take so long :(

out of the last 17 that came in 13 had 13A fuses and 4 had 3A fuses.

cheers
kev

gary
Site Admin
Posts: 1032
Joined: 26 Jan 2008, 00:44

Re: Eclipse Plug Fuse

Postby gary » 26 Nov 2015, 23:29

What faults are you able to fix?

Twitter seems to suggest lots are failing with beeping noises, which I have always assumed is heater element problems.

Gary

Webinfusion
Posts: 134
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 02:13

Re: Eclipse Plug Fuse

Postby Webinfusion » 27 Nov 2015, 18:56

Hi Gary,
i had that assumption also but its not the major fault.

The major fault is due to poor design layout, basicly they designed a track feed throu on the flexable circuit on a bend which fails, same place every time.

second major fault is the thermistors used are not good, and takes out the thermal fuse all zones have to be adjusted this is what takes time as im testing all 6 zones, cooling down and doing adjustment then rechecking, since all zones interact it is not uncomon for this to be done 10+ times.

3rd major is broken heater, replace and test (still always needs adjusting)

its clear from dealing with these there is a offset table possibly through jtag.
thermal fuses are resetable if you know how.

I have only seen 4 code combinations.

1..flashing like its contantly rebooting as soon as plugged in
2..flashing like its contantly rebooting when button pressed.
3..9 flashes / 3 bleeps repeating as soon as plugged in
4..9 flashes / 3 bleeps repeating when button pressed.

sorry cant tell you the diffrence as in my sample so far the same fault can produce any of these, there looks to be a test done when power applied then another on button pressed, number 4 had only been non switch side thermal fuse in my study.

Newer eclipses have kapton tape on the top side of the heater

while im here how about this link http://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/s ... 80272.html

cheers
kev

Webinfusion
Posts: 134
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 02:13

Re: Eclipse Plug Fuse

Postby Webinfusion » 12 Jan 2016, 12:26

Update

Unit it jtagable and unprotected, offsets are in flash section (somewhere).


Return to “Eclipse and Platinum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest